» HOME » About Us » ACEEU Council

ACEEU Council

ACEEU Council is a body fundamental to ACEEU policies and activities, and an important driving force behind various conceptual, strategic and practical work to ensure the universities receive tailored recommendations for improving their performance.
The Accreditation Council is ACEEU’s decision-making body consisting of over 40 international experts coming from university leadership, academia and industry. It oversees the initial accreditations and re-accreditations in order to ensure the consistent application of the set standards. The Council is also responsible for the further development of the standards, guidelines as well as all matters targeting the accreditation process.


The Accreditation Council is ACEEU’s highest decision-making body. The Accreditation Council is required to approve/disapprove changes to the standards, guidelines, as well as the accreditation process. These changes can be proposed by individual members, the Accreditation Office, members the Peer Review Teams or members of the Advisory Board.

In addition, members of the Council form the Accreditation Committees which overlook accreditation processes.


The Accreditation Council is composed of a chair, vice-chairs and a minimum of 12 and a maximum of 50 members. The members of the Council are recognised experts in the field. Members might be recruited from institutions that have received ACEEU accreditation in the past, given that they bring in specific expertise with respect to ACEEU’s standards. The majority of members currently hold or have hold management positions within higher education institutions or institutions in the field of entrepreneurship and engagement.
Leading ACEEU into the future

Council leadership

Professor Thorsten Kliewe

Chair of the Accreditation Council for Entrepreneurial and Engaged Universities (ACEEU)

Dr. Cameron McCoy
United States

Provost at Shenandoah University, Board of Directors, Association of University Research Parks (AURP)

Professor Irene Sheridan

Head of CIT Extended Campus, Ireland

Johan Blaus

Director of Strategic Partnerships at KTH Royal Institute of Technology

International expertise

Members of the Council

Dr. Abdelraheem Abual Basal

Executive Director at Queen Rania Center for Entrepreneurship

Dr. Andreas Altmann

Rector & Executive Director, MCI Management Center Innsbruck - The Entrepreneurial School

David Brukardt
United States

Associate Vice President of Corporate Relations and Economic Engagement, University of Wisconsin (UW) System

Professor Paul Coyle

Independent innovation, leadership and change management consultant

Professor Mark Crowell
Saudi Arabia

Executive Chairman of the Academic Venture Exchange (AVX)

Dr. Joanne Curry

Vice-President External Relations at Simon Fraser University and institutional lead for community engagement

Brian Darmody
United States

Associate Vice President for Corporate and Foundation Relations at University of Maryland

Professor Todd Davey

Assoc. Professor for Entrepreneurship at Institut Mines-Télécom Business School

Dr. Elizabeth Eastland

Director Entrepreneurship at University of New South Wales in Australia

Professor Dr. René Garrido

Director of Liaison with the Environment in the School of Engineering of the Universidad de Santiago de Chile

Professor Nuno Guimaraes

Vice-Rector for International Affairs & E-Learning at ISCTE-University Institute of Lisbon

Professor Stephen Hagen

Professor Emeritus, University of South Wales (UK)

Professor Paul Hannon

Director of the Institute for Entrepreneurial Leadership and Director of Leading Business Growth

Devin Hauer

Director Ibero Consultores Estratégicos, Universidad Iberoamericana Ciudad de México

Troels Jacobsen

Director of Innovation and external collaboration, University of Stavanger

Dr. Saran Kaur Gill

Former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Industry and Community Partnerships) Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (National University of Malaysia)

Wendy Kerr
New Zealand

Director for the Centre of Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Auckland University

Professor Panayiotis Ketikidis

Vice Principal for Research, Innovation & External Relations of CITY College - An International Faculty of the University of Sheffield

Professor David Kirby

Vice President for Enterprise and Community Services, The British University in Egypt

Dr. Lina Landinez

Executive Director of ACEEU

Professor Gideon Maas

Director of the International Centre for Transformational Entrepreneurship at Coventry University (UK Entrepreneurial University of the Year 2011), UK

Maciej Markowski

International Policy Advisor, Polish Accreditation Committee

Arno Meerman
The Netherlands

CEO at University Industry Innovation Network

Dr. Julie Nagel
United States

Associate Vice Chancellor for Innovation & Entrepreneurship at the University of Kansas (KU)

Professor Margaret Maile Petty
New Zealand

Pro Vice-Chancellor Toi Rauwhārangi College of the Creative Arts, Massey University

Associate Professor Carolin Plewa

Deputy Director – Entrepreneurship, Commercialisation and Innovation Centre (ECIC), The University of Adelaide

Professor Guilherme Ary Plonsky

Full professor of University of São Paulo (USP)

Dr. Ellen Purpus
United States

Assistant Vice President for Enterprise and Innovation at the University of Nevada, Reno

Dr. Hanumanthu Purushotham

Chairman and Managing Director, National Research Development Corporation (NRDC), Ministry of Science & Technology, Government of India

Professor Deresh Ramjugernath
South Africa

Vice-Rector at Stellenbosch University

Professor Dr. Sabina Ratajczak

Vice-Rector for Development and Director of Quality of Education and Innovations Centre at WSB University

Professor David Romero

Sr. Researcher & Scientific Project Manager, School of Engineering and Sciences at Tecnológico de Monterrey.

Jacyl Shaw

Digital Innovation Leader at GHD

Professor Toru Tanigawa

Managing Director, e.lab (Entrepreneurship Laboratory)

Dr. Tuula Teeri

President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences

Dr. Kirsi Viskari

Director of Tampere Vocational College Tredu. Former Vice President for Research, Development, and Innovation at Tampere University of Applied Sciences

Dr. David Winwood
United States

Interim Executive Director, LSU Innovation Park, Lousiana Business & Technology Center